Re: Press Release - Winners Announced for the EAA AirVenture Cup

Sanjay Dhall <sdhall@...>

Congrats Sam!

-----Original Message-----
From: Q-LIST@... [mailto:Q-LIST@...] On Behalf Of
Sam Hoskins
Sent: Monday, July 29, 2013 6:14 PM
To: Quickie List
Subject: [Q-LIST] Fwd: Press Release - Winners Announced for the EAA
AirVenture Cup



Sent via wireless gizmo.
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: "EAA AirVenture Cup" <kspangler@...>
Date: Jul 29, 2013 4:20 PM
Subject: Press Release - Winners Announced for the EAA AirVenture Cup
To: <sam.hoskins@...>

[image: AVC Logo]



Kandi Spangler

Race Communications & Sponsorships

+1 312.246.2508


*Winners Announced for the 16th Annual EAA AirVenture Cup*

*Oshkosh, WI - July 29, 2013 - *The winners have been announced for the 16th
Annual EAA AirVenture Cup cross country air race.

The race started at 9:30 AM Sunday morning departing from Mount Vernon, IL
with 2 turn points before ending in Waupaca, WI for a total mileage of 460
nm. The fastest aircraft of the day was a Turbine Legend, flown by Marty
Abbott who came in at a time of 1:17:55 and an average speed of 354.30 mph.

A total of 48 aircraft raced in the event, which included experimental and
certified aircraft categories. Two of the aircraft, both Glasair I TDs,
where flown by Steve and Bruce Hammer, who have been competing against each
other in the race since 1998. Bruce beat his bother this year by just under
six minutes.

In the Formula FX Red class, father/daughter duo, Rich and Heather Lamb,
came in second, this being their 5th year racing together in a Long EZ.

This year also marked a milestone for the race when two young gentlemen who
previously raced with their fathers in years past, Jay Behl and Colin Hogan,
entered the race with their own aircraft competing against their fathers,
Lee Behl and Bernie Hogan.

Race Results


- 1st Place: Race 104, Marty Abbott Turbine Legend

- 2nd Place: Race 007, Rene Dugas Turbine Legend


- 1st Place: Race 5, Lee Behel GP-5
324.90mph 1:24:58


- 1st Place: Race 30, Harry Hinkley SX-300
314.54mph 1:27:46

- 2nd Place: Race 10, Keith Phillips SX-300
286.07mph 1:36:30

- 3rd Place: Race 21, Alan Crawford Lancair Legacy
277.96mph 1:39:19

Sport FX

- 1st Place: Race 39, John Angerson F-1 Rocket
220.11mph 2:05:25

Sea Sport

- Race 80: Race 80, Keith Walljasper Seawind 3000

Formula RG Blue

- 1st Place: Race 38, Mark Quinn Lancair 360
242.55mph 1:53:49

- 2nd Place: Race 13, James & Sandy Redmon, Berkut 239.32mph

- 3rd Place: Race 777, Craig Schulze Lancair 360
239.01mph 1:55:30

Formula RG Red

- 1st Place: Race 324, Robert James Lancair 320
216.91mph 2:07:16

Formula FX Blue

- 1st Place: Race 91, Bruce Hammer Glasair I TD
258.20mph 1:46:55

- 2nd Place: Race 111, Klaus Savier & Jenny Tackabury, Long EZ 253.92mph

- 3rd Place: Race 73, Steve Hammer Glasair I TD
242.97mph 1:53:37

Formula FX Red

- 1st Place: Race 46, Jeff Malia Cozy Mk III
221.64mph 2:04:33

- 2nd Place: Race 93, Rich & Heather Lamb, Long EZ 210.62mph

- 3rd Place: Race 14, Neil Newton Glasair II TD
206.86mph 2:13:27

RV Blue

- 1st Place: Race 27, Jon Ross RV-8
217.74mph 2:06:47

- 2nd Place: Race 411, Jeff Barnes RV-6
215.56mph 2:08:04

- 3rd Place: Race 12, Alan Carroll RV-8
209.98mph 2:11:28

RV Red

- 1st Place: Race 49, Tony Crawford RV-4
197.49mph 2:19:47


- 1st Place: Race 22, Sam Hoskins Quickie Q-200
205.48mph 2:14:21

- 2nd Place: Race 98, John Keich & Amanda Lance, Midget Mustang,
171.94mph, 2:40:33

- 3rd Place: Race 3, Jerry Peck Long EZ
169.45mph 2:42:55


- 1st Place: Race 19, Carri Hoagland Taylorcraft BC-12


- 1st Place: Race 193, Bob & AnnElise Bennett, Beech S35
212.54mph 2:09:53

- 2nd Place: Race 101, Henry Punzi Mooney M20J
201.82mph 2:16:47

- 3rd Place: Race 64, Colin Hogan & Robby Browder, PA-24-400,
187.01mph, 2:27:37


- 1st Place: Race 332, Steve Applebaum, Diamond DA-20 146.38mph

Heavy Metal

- 1st Place: Race 85, Craig Payne CJ-6
187.56mph 2:27:11

The awards ceremony was held last night at Wendt's Restaurant with over 100
in attendance.

*About the EAA AirVenture Cup Race*

The EAA AirVenture Cup Race was founded in 1997 in the spirit of recreating
the old Bendix Trophy Race and is dedicated to aviation advocacy and
preserving the rich heritage of cross-country air racing. The race is held
annually in advance of EAA AirVenture. For more information, visit<


[image: Race 91]

Race 91, Bruce Hammer, taking off in his Glasair I TD from Mount Vernon
Airport on Sunday morning. Mr. Hammer won 1st Place in the Formula FX Blue
division. *Photo courtesy of Geoff Sobering.*

Forward this

This email was sent to sam.hoskins@... by
kspangler@... | Update Profile/Email
| Instant removal with
| Privacy Policy <>.
| 1100 Stoneham Street | Superior | Colorado | 80027


Quickie Builders Association WEB site

Yahoo! Groups Links

Join to automatically receive all group messages.